The Chronicles of Narnia
What's the order... ?

Did you know that there are two different ways that you can read The Chronicles of Narnia series by C.S. Lewis? Some people like to read the books in the order that they were published. Others prefer to read through the books according to the order of events as they unfold in the stories. However you choose to read through the series, the following lists will help you stay on track. Follow the link to each title to check its availability on the shelf at Skokie Public Library!

book coverC.S Lewis' famous series of books were published between 1950 and 1956, in the following order:

  1. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (1950)
  2. Prince Caspian (1951)
  3. The Voyage of the "Dawn Treader" (1952)
  4. The Silver Chair (1953)
  5. The Horse and His Boy (1954)
  6. The Magician’s Nephew (1955)
  7. The Last Battle (1956)

Many current editions of the books, however, number them in a slightly different order that reflects the chronological sequence of events in the books:

  1. The Magician’s Nephew
  2. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
  3. The Horse and His Boy
  4. Prince Caspian
  5. The Voyage of the "Dawn Treader"
  6. The Silver Chair
  7. The Last Battle

P.S... Thank you to Mandy in Youth Services for explaining the order and preparing the lists!