Mystery Authors You May Have Missed
Joanna Challis

Photo of Joanna Challis

Joanna Challis lives in Queensland, Australia in a colonial house with wrap-around verandahs and an English garden. Though she enjoys the sun, she likes nothing better than exploring castles in Europe. When she can't be overseas, a picture of any castle will do to give her inspiration for a new gothic romance.

What she writes: Joanna would like to continue the tradition of such writers as Victoria Holt and Daphne du Maurier with her gothic tales set in the Victorian era. She has gained some American fame with her Daphne du Maurier mysteries, featuring the young writer du Maurier getting involved with crimes in her native Cornwall, England. In addition to gothic mysteries, Joanna also has written medieval romances.


List of works
Daphne du Maurier series
  Murder on the Cliffs (2009)  
  Peril at Somner House (2010)  
  The Villa of Death (2011)  
Other novels
  The Secret of the Phoenix (2002)  
  Silverthorn (2003)  
  The Pendragon Legacy (2004)  
  Eye of the Serpent (2006)  


Silverthorn was a finalist for the Ruby Award given by Romance Writers of Australia.

What the critics say
Regarding Murder on the Cliffs - "Challis gives du Maurier fans an appealing vision of the novelist's…inspiration for her classic Rebecca." - Publishers Weekly
Regarding Peril at Somner House - "Challis manages to deftly weave together…a generous dose of traditional mystery elements to create a suspenseful tale that will appeal to fans of other literary-inspired mysteries..." - Jessica Moyer for Booklist


Learn about other Mystery Authors You May Have Missed.