The Hugo Award for Best Novel

The Science Fiction Achievement Awards, or Hugo Awards, are selected annually by popular vote of the World Science Fiction Society. Established in 1953 and named for Hugo Gernsback, an early science fiction publisher, the awards are given for the best science fiction and to individuals for contributions to science fiction writing, art, and publishing. The Best Novel category winners are listed below. (This award description was taken from NoveList, a database dedicated to helping readers find fiction titles, award winning books, and similar titles and authors.)  Visit the Hugo Awards official website for more information about this award.

All of these titles are located in the Adult Science Fiction section of the Library unless otherwise noted.

2014 Leckie, Ann. Ancillary Justice.
     Also available: eBook
2013 Scalzi, John. Redshirts.
     Also available: CD
2012 Walton, Jo. Among Others.
2011 Willis, Connie. Blackout/All Clear.
     Also available: CD
All Clear.
     Also available: CD, eAudiobook
2010 Bacigalupi, Paolo. The Windup Girl.
Miéville, China. The City & the City.
2009 Gaiman, Neil. The Graveyard Book.
     Also available: Large Type, CD, eAudiobook
2008 Chabon, Michael. The Yiddish Policemen's Union.
     Also available: Large Type, CD
2007 Vinge, Vernor. Rainbows End.
2006 Wilson, Robert Charles. Spin.
2005 Clarke, Susanna. Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell.
     Also available: CD
2004 Bujold, Lois McMaster. Paladin of Souls.
     Also available: eAudiobook
2003 Sawyer, Robert J. Hominids.
2002 Gaiman, Neil. American Gods. (Adult Fiction GAI).
     Also available: CD, eBook
2001 Rowling, J.K. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. (Youth Fiction ROW).
     Also available: Large Type, CD
2000 Vinge, Vernor. A Deepness in the Sky.
1999 Willis, Connie. To Say Nothing of the Dog.
     Also available: CD
1998 Haldeman, Joe. The Forever Peace.
     Also available: CD
1997 Robinson, Kim Stanley. Blue Mars.
     Also available: CD
1996 Stephenson, Neal. The Diamond Age.
1995 Bujold, Lois McMaster. Mirror Dance.
     Also available: CD, eAudiobook
1994 Robinson, Kim Stanley. Green Mars.
     Also available: CD
1993 Vinge, Vernor. A Fire Upon the Deep.
Willis, Connie. Doomsday Book.
     Also available: CD
1992 Bujold, Lois, McMaster. Barrayar.
1991 Bujold, Lois, McMaster. The Vor Game.
     Also available: eAudiobook
1990 Simmons, Dan. Hyperion.
     Also available: eAudiobook
1989 Cherryh, C.J. Cyteen.
1988 Brin, David. The Uplift War.
     Also available: CD
1987 Card, Orson Scott. Speaker for the Dead.
     Also available: CD, eAudiobook
1986 Card, Orson Scott. Ender’s Game.
     Also available: CD, eAudiobook
1985 Gibson, William. Neuromancer.
1984 Brin, David. Startide Rising.
     Also available: CD
1983 Asimov, Isaac. Foundation’s Edge.
1982 Cherryh, C.J. Downbelow Station.
1981 Vinge, Joan D. The Snow Queen.
1980 Clarke, Arthur C. The Fountains of Paradise.
1979 McIntyre, Vonda. Dreamsnake.
1978 Pohl, Frederik. Gateway.
1977 Wilhelm, Kate. Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang.
1976 Haldeman, Joe. The Forever War.
     Also available: CD
1975 Le Guin, Ursula K. The Dispossessed: An Ambiguous Utopia.
1974 Clarke, Arthur C. Rendezvous with Rama.
     Also available: eAudiobook
1973 Asimov, Issac. The Gods Themselves.
1972 Farmer, Philip Jose. To Your Scattered Bodies Go.
1971 Niven, Larry. Ringworld.
1970 Le Guin, Ursula K. The Left Hand of Darkness.
1969 Brunner, John. Stand on Zanzibar.
1968 Zelazny, Roger. Lord of Light.
1967 Heinlein, Robert A. The Moon is a Harsh Mistress.
     Also available: eAudiobook
1966 Zelazny, Roger. …And Call Me Conrad... (alternately titled This Immortal.)
Herbert, Frank. Dune.
     Also available: CD, eAudiobook
1965 Leiber, Fritz. The Wanderer.
1964 Simak, Clifford D. Way Station.
1963 Dick, Philip K. The Man in the High Castle.
     Also available: CD
1962 Heinlein, Robert A. Stranger in a Strange Land.
     Also available: CD, eAudiobook
1961 Miller, Walter M. A Canticle for Leibowitz.
1960 Heinlein, Robert A. Starship Troopers.
1959 Blish, James. A Case of Conscience.
1958 Leiber, Fritz. The Big Time.
1957 No Award
1956 Heinlein, Robert A. Double Star.
1955 Clifton, Mark. They’d Rather Be Right.
1954 No Award
1953 Bester, Alfred. The Demolished Man.