Author and Novel Readalikes

Barbara Kingsolver Readalikes
Realistic women and their situations, solid well-thought-out plots, vivid Southern locations, and strong writing.
Bill Bryson Readalikes
Visit a new landscape with a fresh perspective. If you liked Bill Bryson’s A Walk in the Woods, you might want to try these other travel narratives which are similarly replete with humor and insight.
Carl Hiaasen Readalikes
Fans of Carl Hiaasen's zany crime capers set in the steamy South will enjoy these authors who mix humor and suspense in stories filled with outlandish characters and wacky plot twists.
Dan Brown Readalikes
Dan Brown writes conspiracy thrillers with religious and historical underpinnings. His books have sold over 100 million copies worldwide and have been adapted into movies. 
Daniel Silva Readalikes
If you like Daniel Silva then try one of these books filled with international intrigue, thrills, and suspense. 
David Sedaris Readalikes
David Sedaris makes readers laugh out loud with stories of his personal humiliations and quirky family. If you like his brand of neurotic, autobiographical humor, give these books a try.
Freakonomics Readalikes
The phenomena of everyday life are examined in these informative and readable nonfiction titles.
George R.R. Martin Readalikes
George R.R. Martin’s sweeping A Song of Ice and Fire series mixes fantasy with political intrigue and graphic action. If you’ve explored the Seven Kingdoms and crave more, try one of these epic fantasies.
The Glass Castle Readalikes
If you were fascinated by Jeannette Wall’s tale of an extremely dysfunctional family and would like to read other books that explore troubled childhoods and how someone rose above them, try one of these titles.
Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society Readalikes
Mixing humor, drama, history and romance, it describes the German occupation of the island of Guernsey during World War II. For each facet of the book you may have enjoyed, there is more to explore.
Harlan Coben Readalikes
Cops, mafia, ordinary folks — people who have personal demons to confront, rapid-fire action, complex plots full of surprises, and frequently, an irreverent sense of humor; all characterize Coben’s writing.
The Help Readalikes
The Help evokes the South of the early 1960s, revealing the pervasive unspoken code of behavior and discrimination at the dawn of the civil rights movement. The novel also depicts the intricacies and complications of female friendship, female ambition, and interracial relationships.
James Patterson Readalikes
Fans of Patterson’s fast-paced suspense may enjoy these titles.
James Rollins Readalikes
No one writes “Indiana Jones”-style adventures like James Rollins, but some writers come close. If you can’t get enough of Rollin’s rip-roaring adventures set in exotic locales and seasoned with intriguing historical and scientific information, give one of these books a try.
Jan Karon Readalikes
Jan Karon’s Mitford series appeals to our longing for community, for kindness, for faith, and for simplicity in life. If you’ve read all of the books in the Mitford series, you may also enjoy some of the titles on this list.
Jane Austen Lives On!: Novels Inspired by Jane Austen's Life and Works
Do not despair, gentle reader, if you’ve already read all of Jane Austen’s works and still hunger for more. You may now move on to any of these contemporary novels inspired by Jane Austen’s books, her characters, and even her own life.
Janet Evanovich Readalikes
Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum and MetroGirl series feature young female protagonists who are involved with crime fighting and frequently find themselves in over their heads.
Jodi Picoult Readalikes
Jodi Picoult's novels feature regular people coping with difficult circumstances. Her characters illuminate many sides of controversial issues.
John Irving Readalikes
John Irving’s novels present life as both comically absurd and inescapably tragic. The following titles have similarities to the work of John Irving in having a similar conversational tone, motifs, or overall theme.
The Lemon Tree Readalikes
The Lemon Tree is a true account of the unusual friendship that developed between Dalia, an Israeli immigrant and Bashir, a Palestinian. The books in this list contain historical information and personal narratives about the perspectives of both Israelis and Palestinians.
Maeve Binchy Readalikes
If you enjoy Maeve Binchy's character-centered, leisurely tales of women and their relationships and want to read similar books, check out some of these readalikes.
Maisie Dobbs Readalikes
Jacqueline Winspear’s British historical mysteries feature the plucky Maisie Dobbs, an intelligent, self-made heroine who went from being a domestic servant to a nurse in WWI to running her own business as an inquiry agent. Setting, time period, and atmosphere are key to these well-plotted, character-driven cozies, which are mostly upbeat but with dark undertones due to the lingering effects of the war. If you like Maisie Dobbs, you might enjoy these other series.
Mary Higgins Clark Readalikes
Like Mary Higgins Clark’s suspense novels, these fast-paced books feature gutsy heroines in perilous situations.
McSweeney's & Friends
Hipster readers know McSweeney’s for its quarterly journal, its book publishing, and its website, all of which feature quirky, innovative fiction and off the wall humor from cutting edge writers.
Never Let Me Go Readalikes
If you liked Kazuo Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go, or other books about clones, you might enjoy these titles.
Nicholas Sparks Readalikes
Known for his heartwarming and gentle novels of love and loss, Sparks always leaves readers wanting more. To read other tales about the power of love, try these titles.
The Other Boleyn Girl Readalikes
Fans of Philippa Gregory’s novels of passion and intrigue in the royal courts of the past will find plenty to enjoy in these stories of queens, consorts, and noblewomen.
Philip K. Dick Readalikes
Philip K. Dick was one of the most influential science fiction writers of the mid-20th century and his dark, cynical, suspicious stories continue to appeal. Try a book from this list for a Philip K. Dick read-a-like experience.
Susan Elizabeth Phillips Readalikes
Susan Elizabeth Phillips writes sexy, contemporary romances full of quirky humor, relatable characters, and heart-tugging emotion. While there is no one quite like SEP, these books capture some of her charm.
Take This Job and...
If you're a fan of the television show The Office, try one of these often satirical novels about working.
True Blood Readalikes
Have you devoured the hit HBO show True Blood and the Charlaine Harris novels that inspired it? If you like Harris’ Sookie Stackhouse series, here are some more sexy paranormal books to try.
Zane Readalikes
If you enjoy the novels of Zane, these exceptional authors also keep the intrigue, intensity, and sensuality sizzling.