Board of Trustees

Board members are elected for six-year terms in consolidated April elections. The Board is governed by the Bylaws of the Board of Trustees.

Our Board of Trustees generally meets at 6:30 pm on the second Wednesday of each month. Meetings are held in the Business & Community Center on the second floor. Meetings are livestreamed on our YouTube Events channel.

Please read our policies regarding public comment at Board meetings and remote participation.


  • Gene Griffin, President
  • Shabnam Mahmood, Vice President
  • Mary Pietrucha, Secretary
  • Mira Barbir
  • Amanda Lichtenstein
  • Michelle Julaton Mallari
  • Ella Whitehead

Meeting agendas

Library Board meetings include an opportunity for public comment in accordance with the Illinois Open Meetings Act and the library’s policy regarding public comment at Board meetings. Public comments may be made in-person at the designated point during a Board meeting. Public comments may also be submitted by emailing the Administrative Coordinator at or by leaving a voicemail at 847-972-5645 by 4:30 pm on the date of the meeting. Comments submitted by email or telephone may be read or played aloud during the public comment portion of the meeting.

If you need any additional assistance to allow you to observe and/or participate in a Board meeting, please contact the Administrative Coordinator by phone at (847) 324-3128 or email at at least 48 hours in advance to allow for the arrangement of reasonable accommodations. Accommodations may include sign language interpretation and language translation.

Meeting minutes

Find Board minutes dating back to 1958 in our online archive.

Upcoming meeting schedule

FY 2023-2024

    Wednesday, May 10, 2023
    Wednesday, June 14, 2023
    Wednesday, July 12, 2023
    Wednesday, August 16, 2023
    CANCELLED -- Wednesday, August 9, 2023
    Wednesday, September 13, 2023
    Wednesday, October 11, 2023
    Wednesday, November 15, 2023
    Wednesday, December 13, 2023
    Wednesday, January 10, 2024
    Wednesday, February 14, 2024
    Wednesday, March 13, 2024
    Wednesday, April 10, 2024

FY 2024-2025

    Wednesday, May 15, 2024
    Wednesday, June 12, 2024
    Wednesday, July 10, 2024
    Wednesday, August 14, 2024
    Wednesday, September 11, 2024
    Wednesday, October 9, 2024
    Wednesday, November 13, 2024
    Wednesday, December 11, 2024
    Wednesday, January 15, 2025
    Wednesday, February 12, 2025
    Wednesday, March 12, 2025
    Wednesday, April 9, 2025